GK802

Re: GK802

Postby thePCisDead » Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:09 pm

bogolisk wrote:So after several weeks with the gk802, I concluded it's an disappointment...


Maybe patience is a virtue when buying bleeding edge devices from small outfits?
thePCisDead
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:43 pm

Re: GK802

Postby riggatrigga » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:02 pm

several weeks is not near enough time for such a new product like look at the mk808 they just announced it at ces2013 as a brand spanking new product but yet ppl have been messing with it for close to a year or more now when the gk802 is ready for the mass market its gonna kick some serious ass especially with the Linux support see if u sing the same tune in a month or two once some custom firmwares start rolling out u will see huge improvements hell my stick is probably running 300% better then day 1 and its only been 2 weeks today
riggatrigga
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:38 pm

Re: AW: GK802

Postby Craxx » Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:34 am

bogolisk wrote:So after several weeks with the gk802, I concluded it's an disappointment:
  • xbmc support: latest hwaccel build for android supports OMAP (Archos devices), Tegra3 (Ouya, most recent tablets), Exynos4 (ODROID-U2, ODROID-X2, etc.), Snapdragon (most recent phones) none for i.MX6Q. I tried that xbmc build on the gk802 (more than 6Mbps 720p mkv over smb) and it showed a blackscreen with hw-rendering, and stuttering with sw-rendering. So when you see "...also the good news is XBMC is working on this GK802..." (http://www.armtvtech.com/armtvtechforum/viewtopic.php?p=1613#p1613), well they were working on other chipsets.
  • 3D driver is so buggy: many games are un-playable due to buggy rendering (e.g. train crisis HD, royal revolt, etc.)
  • heat: can't run livewallpaper (such as Ocean HD) without the device get really hot.
  • persistent ethernet: it tooks me 3 days of hacking to manage to get ethernet enabled by default at boot. Hey! it's a TV-box, I want ethernet on by default.
  • buggy kernel: can't enable swapping without the device freezing.

It's still a fun device for the TV, but in hindsight, I should've bought the odroid-u2 instead (Exynos4 quad-core, Mali400 GPU, xbmc hwaccel, 2G of DDR, great thermal design, rj45 + 2 usb ports.)


Hy
How do you fix ethernet on boot stay enabled? Thx for sharing :-D
do you put something like that in init.sh
netcfg eth0 up
netcfg eth0 dhcp
setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8

I had also a lot of freezer But after changing to the sandisk Extreme Pro 8gb with up to 95mb/s all is working very fine.

Craxx;-)

Send from my Nexus 4 with Tapatalk :-)
Craxx
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: AW: GK802

Postby bogolisk » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:51 am

Craxx wrote:How do you fix ethernet on boot stay enabled? Thx for sharing :-D
do you put something like that in init.sh
netcfg eth0 up
netcfg eth0 dhcp
setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8


That would make the the port working at Linux level but will confuse Android.

what I did take a bit a Linux familiarity.
  1. need root
  2. remount /system to read-write
    Code: Select all
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5
  3. init will call /system/bin/gpu_init.sh to initialize the GPU so we just take advantage of that. Create a file /system/bin/gpu_init.sh with 755 permissions.
    Code: Select all
    #!/system/bin/sh

    /data/opt/autostart.sh
  4. I made gpu_init.sh call /data/opt/autostart.sh because /data is rw so I don't have to remount each time (as with /system) if I want to add something to the script.
  5. init call /system/bin/gpu_init.sh very early so we have to spawn a script and wait until the framework is ready to use. This is /data/opt/autostart.sh (permissions should be 755)
    Code: Select all
    #!/system/bin/sh

    cd /data/opt
    /data/opt/eth0_start.sh < /dev/null 1>&2 > eth0.txt &
    exit 0
  6. This is /data/opt/eth0_start.sh (permissions should be 755). It just unconditionally try to turn eth0 on. Maybe tomorrow I'll tweak it to read the the value of "ethernet_on" from the settings database. The init process will also set the cpu governor to "interactive" after booting complete, so in this script you can also re-set the governor to "performance".
    Code: Select all
    #!/system/bin/sh

    cd /data/opt

    boot_done=`getprop init.svc.bootanim`
    while [ "$boot_done" != "stopped" ]; do
        sleep 1
        boot_done=`getprop init.svc.bootanim`
    done

    for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9; do
       if grep -qe eth0 /proc/net/dev; then
          /system/bin/service call ethernet 2 i32 2
          break
       else
          sleep 1
       fi
    done

    #netcfg

    #echo performance > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
    #echo 10 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
    true

Edit: permissions for scripts should be 755 (executable)
Last edited by bogolisk on Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
bogolisk
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby Craxx » Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:48 am

Hy and thx for your reply, i will try that tonight.
Whats about these lines:
#echo performance > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor OK changing governor !!!
#echo 10 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness Whats that??

Wahts about implementing init.d script support and the make it with that?
I am not sooo an linux expert, perhaps this question is rubbish...;-)

best regards
Craxx;-)
Craxx
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: GK802

Postby bogolisk » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:02 am

Craxx wrote:#echo 10 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness Whats that??

that's only used if you have swapping enabled. It's a ratio for the kernel to decide how to get ram pages (stealing from the page-cache or swapping out processes). But the kernel we have doesn't behave well with swapping.
Wahts about implementing init.d script support and the make it with that?

init and init.*.rc are in the initramfs so you can't make persistent modifications without recompiling the kernel and initramfs, which I haven't been able to find the exact source and patches for the gk802. My hack modified files in the /system and /data partitions which are persistent.
bogolisk
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:58 am

Re: AW: GK802

Postby Craxx » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:05 am

thx ...so i try your solution tonight.

Craxx;-)

Send from my Galaxy Nexus with Tapatalk :-)
Craxx
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: AW: GK802

Postby Craxx » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:51 pm

...didn´t work for me :-(
Are you shure in system/bin the file should have .sh ?

Craxx;-)

Send from my Galaxy Nexus with Tapatalk :-)
Craxx
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: AW: GK802

Postby bogolisk » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:52 pm

Craxx wrote:...didn´t work for me :-(
Are you shure in system/bin the file should have .sh ?

Craxx;-)

Send from my Galaxy Nexus with Tapatalk :-)


That's how init invoke it in /init.rc

Code: Select all
service gpu_init /system/bin/gpu_init.sh


make sure the permissions are 755 and the first line of script is exactly:
Code: Select all
#!/system/bin/sh
bogolisk
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby Craxx » Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:54 am

Hy bogolisk,

thx for answer. I do all like you dicribed, but didn´t work...
I upload my scripts, hope you find my mistake.
I set all permissions of the 3 files to 755.

best regards
Craxx ;-)
Last edited by Craxx on Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Craxx
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: GK802

Postby bogolisk » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:23 am

Craxx wrote:Hy bogolisk,

thx for answer. I do all like you dicribed, but didn´t work...
I upload my scripts, hope you find my mistake.
I set all permissions of the 3 files to 755.

best regards
Craxx ;-)


Your scripts are in DOS format. Try with my attached file, put it somewhere like /sdcard/

*enable ethernet in the Settings GUI*
*launch android terminal*
Code: Select all
su
mount -o remount,rw /system
tar xzvf /sdcard/eth_scripts.tar.gz
sync


*reboot*
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bogolisk
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby Craxx » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:24 am

Hy bogolisk,

THX a lot WORKS GREAT !!!!! :-D

best regards
Craxx;-)
Craxx
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: GK802

Postby vincentvega » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:28 pm

Craxx wrote:Hy bogolisk,

THX a lot WORKS GREAT !!!!! :-D

best regards
Craxx;-)


Please write down in Human language how can we solve this Ethernet off bug.

TY
vincentvega
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:48 pm

Re: AW: GK802

Postby Craxx » Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:07 pm

..read some posts above, there is the way...

Craxx;-)

Send from my Gk802 with Tapatalk :-)
Craxx
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: AW: GK802

Postby fma965 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:01 am

If you get a error saying TAR not found install busybox from the play store, then follow instructions, and of couse if you put the tar.gz on external sdcard instead replace /sdcard with /extsd

Thanks man now i have working ethernet on boot :)
My GK802 Dev-Host Folder (Kernel and uBoot Source)
fma965
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby fma965 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:04 am

vincentvega wrote:
Craxx wrote:Hy bogolisk,

THX a lot WORKS GREAT !!!!! :-D

best regards
Craxx;-)


Please write down in Human language how can we solve this Ethernet off bug.

TY


if you can't work out a simple thing like this using the 4 commands above then i have no idea why u bought a gk802. its still in development mainly.
My GK802 Dev-Host Folder (Kernel and uBoot Source)
fma965
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby barbrit » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:22 am

I've seen a few post saying that they have updated this device through windows, can someone kindly explain how this is done as i can't get windows (i've tried in windows 8) to see the gk802 and as my reset button is broken this is the only way update this device. Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thank you.
barbrit
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby fma965 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:28 am

barbrit wrote:I've seen a few post saying that they have updated this device through windows, can someone kindly explain how this is done as i can't get windows (i've tried in windows 8) to see the gk802 and as my reset button is broken this is the only way update this device. Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thank you.


take it apart, remove the sd card from internet slot, put in card reader, winimage the image from the other thread, put sd back in gk802, done.
My GK802 Dev-Host Folder (Kernel and uBoot Source)
fma965
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby barbrit » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:03 pm

fma965 wrote:
barbrit wrote:I've seen a few post saying that they have updated this device through windows, can someone kindly explain how this is done as i can't get windows (i've tried in windows 8) to see the gk802 and as my reset button is broken this is the only way update this device. Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thank you.


take it apart, remove the sd card from internet slot, put in card reader, winimage the image from the other thread, put sd back in gk802, done.

Thanks that did the trick
barbrit
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:58 am

Re: GK802

Postby vincentvega » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:41 pm

fma965 wrote:
vincentvega wrote:
Craxx wrote:Hy bogolisk,

THX a lot WORKS GREAT !!!!! :-D

best regards
Craxx;-)


Please write down in Human language how can we solve this Ethernet off bug.

TY


if you can't work out a simple thing like this using the 4 commands above then i have no idea why u bought a gk802. its still in development mainly.


works well now! thank you both of you! ;)
vincentvega
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:48 pm

PreviousNext

Return to GK802

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest